Search our database

What to do when you see “user too large, delete on background” message in DirectAdmin

By default, if the sum of the disk usage of any user being deleted in DirectAdmin exceeds a certain threshold, the account will be deleted by a background process.

To prevent time-outs in browser for deletion of these excessively large accounts, DirectAdmin will execute the deletion by adding the command to the background’s task.queue, instead of performing the execution on the foreground. When DirectAdmin delegates this task to a background process, it will show you the this message:

user too large, delete on background
The process will actually just be the dataskq

The configuration can be changed by modifying the value of the “get_background_delete_size” in the directadmin.conf settings file.

To perform the change, you can connect to the server through SSH using root access, then go to DirectAdmin’s installed directory as below:

cd /usr/local/directadmin/conf/

Then edit the directadmin.conf file in the directory

vi directadmin.conf

If there’s no “get_background_delete_size” value exist in the directadmin.conf file, it means that the value of the “get_background_delete_size” is set to 10 gigabyte by default (get_background_delete_size=10240). You can add the following line below and define the value that you wish to set.

For example, if you want to set the get_background_delete_size to 20 gigabytes, this is the setting:

get_background_delete_size=20480

The 20480 is a variable that means 20 gigabytes is set. You can also disable the feature by setting the value to 0.

For more information, you can check out All directadmin.conf values.

Tags: